Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Program History

Photographer:  Guy Mohr
Photographer: Guy Mohr

This year the Bear Cub Wrestling program turns 50 years old, born in 1964.

Coach Fitzpatrick enters his 30th season with a record of 209-162-4. The Bear Cubs have won seven conference titles and finished second nine times. Past CCCAA individual State Champions for SRJC include: Dennis Bardsley (Petaluma HS) the 150 lb. Champion (and MOW) in 1973; Brian Bowles (Laytonville) two time State Champion at 177 lbs in 1994 and 1995 (and MOW); Kyle Griffin (East Clovis and Albany HS's) 2006 undefeated State Champion (and MOW) at 174 lbs; and Andres Torres who won the 125 lb State Championship in 2012. SRJC wrestlers have won 89 state medals and 28 athletes have earned All American honors. Please check out the SRJC wrestling Facebook page for a more complete history and the current program and performance updates.